Lowered prophetic standards

So now that Ariel Sharon has died, I keep hearing about this “prophesy” given by the deceased Rabbi Kaduri that the Messiah would not return until after Sharon’s death.

Ignoring the obvious questions about the identity of this messiah in Kaduri’s mind – issues which I have no real knowledge of, much less the desire to pursue – I just have to raise a skeptical hand about this supposed prophesy for a second.

Prophesies come in different shapes, sizes, forms, and flavors, I get that.  But how is it that there’s such fervor over this one?  Isn’t a prophesy of this nature somewhat similar to me claiming that the Jesus won’t return until after this blog is posted?  I mean, once that threshold is crossed, isn’t it kind of obvious that his return will be after the given event?  And how much does that really tell us, anyway?

Does it tell us how long after Sharon’s death?  That’s an entirely different question, and one which I’ve yet to see anyone speculate on, least of all Kaduri.  Maybe he did, but you’d think that would be front and center of all the mentions of it, which it ain’t.

At any rate, it seems to me that there’s enough to mull over in the prophesies actually contained in Scripture to get too sidetracked with this.  That’s some weighty stuff.  This?  This just seems to be evangelical mysticism manifesting itself in the lowering of prophetic standards.

And that’s all I have to say about that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment